Equal Access to Programs and Services

Section 504, as it is often called, is a federal civil rights law that covers the rights of all individuals with disabilities. It prohibits disability discrimination by any program or activity that receives federal funds. For example, it applies to hospitals, universities, nursing homes, mental health centers, human service programs, public schools and vocational programs. State and local government agencies and programs, public services, are also covered.

Individuals with disabilities are defined as persons with a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities.

  • Caring for one's self
  • Walking
  • Seeing
  • Hearing
  • Speaking
  • Breathing
  • Working
  • Performing manual tasks
  • Learning